Sign in to follow this  
norfolkbroadslim

Hughton & ROI Job - Deja Vu - Lambert & Villa job

After reading the article on the Pink''un home page - http://www.pinkun.com/norwich-city/norwich_city_boss_chris_hughton_reveals_there_has_been_no_official_approach_over_vacant_republic_of_ireland_post_1_2420343 - I couldn''t help but draw comparisons with how Lambert spoke about the speculation surrounding the Villa job.

Never once ruling himself out, saying how happy he is here etc etc.

From the article

- Hughton - "The things I can say is I am manager of Norwich City football club and I am extremely happy here"  - But he can''t say that he is not interested?[:^)]

- Hughton - "As a fellow manager, I was sorry to see him go. When a job like that becomes available there will be some very experienced, knowledgeable names mentioned. I don’t know which direction they want to go and what type of manager but there certainly won’t be a shortage of candidates. It is a very good job.”" - No where in the article does he categorically rule himself out and it is also clear from the article that he thinks it''s a very good job, which he actually even goes on to state explicitly.

Although relatively new to management, lets not forget that Hughton is 55 in December.  I think Hughton would love to manage his country and this may be the only opportunity he gets.

To be totally honest, am I worried if he goes to become the ROI manager? Not particularly. We thankfully still have David McNally, who I''d be more worried about losing.

So who would he go for next if Hughton did go? Well he''s never been one for open interviews, so I''d say Malky would be a good bet. I certainly wouldn''t be upset about that.

I don''t think he will leave. He''s spent a lot moulding his own team plus when he moved here I saw a tweet (I think it was from James Nursey?) and he said that Hughton would not have left Birmingham had it not been for all their troubles because he isn''t someone who just leaves.