Jump to content
chicken

****The Official Lapps Match Thread v Man Utd (PL/A) *****

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

May be an image of 2 people and text
Todays Game is away to Manchester United at Old Trafford. Kick off is 3pm GMT.
May be an image of map and text that says "GLOBAL KICK-OFF MANCHESTER UNITEDV NORWICH CITY Helsinki 17:00 Toronto 10:00 Norwich 15:00 Berlin 16:00 Tampa Bay 10:00 Los Angeles 07:00 Beijing 22:00 Pristina 16:00 Abu Dhabi 18:00 Athens 17:00 Rio De Janeiro 11:00 Seoul 23:00 Hong Kong 22:00 Bangkok 21:00 Nairobi 17:00 TAMPA BAY FLORIDA Buenos Aires 11:00 Sydney 00:00"image.png.f38aff137da2533ee1ec04d6045e59d4.png
image.thumb.png.8cb7f34740c51a6d4eb4da1c01c58d61.png

Also a message for todays away fans:
image.png.f5d9cd4d2b10badd5ea0eb3a6ab08c86.png


Videos:


Articles:
Well, it would look like the BBC have got their act together and have an actual article worth of note this week, coincidence that we are playing Man Utd?
The Pinkun has it's pre match press conference article here. See above for the pinkun conference vid on youtube. 
The club has it's match preview at canaries.co.uk here.
Man Utd have their own match preview article here.

Ins, Outs, Shake em all abouts:
Norwich: Sargent remains out (due to return to training next week), as do Idah , Omobamidele and Kabak - all for the rest of the season, the latter of which has returned to his parent club for treatment. Gilmour and Placheta return for selection. Williams is ineligible to play in this fixture against his parent club.
Man Utd: Man Utd will be without five players with Shaw pretty much being ruled out for the rest of the season. The others are McTominay, Varane, Cavani and Fred.

Referee: Andy Madley
Assistants: Simon Beck, Adrian Holmes.
Fourth official: Jonathan Moss.
VAR: Mike Dean.
Assistant VAR: Scott Ledger.

A little bit of knowledge:
Manchester United started life as Newton Heath L&YR FC in 1878. All of the players worked at the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway Depot at Newton Heath, hence their name. In 1892 they dropped the 'L&YR' and became Newton Heath FC. Then, in 1902, just as their very existence was teetering on the edge of the abyss, John Henry Davies took over and renamed the club Manchester United FC. They have amassed 20 league titles, 11 FA cups and 3 European cups and are one of the richest clubs in world football.

Rays Funds for the Community Sports Foundation
May be an image of one or more people, people playing sport, people standing and outdoors
Nutty has his PUPs thread up and running as usual. Please do go and take a look and take part in all of the fun.

Something extra...
May be an image of ‎text that says "‎ه 20% OFF EVERY *EXCLUDES SALE THING ITEMS. MERCHANDISE APPLY Ts AND Cs WEEKEND ONLY‎"‎
Just in case it's someone's birthday etc and you want to take advantage of a discount... I've linked the image to the club shop.

 

Edited by chicken
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Either the last performance was a flash in the pan against a poor team or we stumbled onto a wining combination of players who have a good understanding and compliment each other well. Probably a bit of both but even accounting for how poor Burnley were I liked some of the link up play I saw, the defence gelled well together and had a nice balance and Lees-Melou looked like Stiepermann at his best in the no.10 role so fingers crossed we've stumbled onto something good

Edited by Christoph Stiepermann

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Christoph Stiepermann said:

Either the last performance was a flash in the pan against a poor team or we stumbled onto a wining combination of players who have a good understanding and compliment each other well. Probably a bit of both but even accounting for how poor Burnley were I liked some of the link up play I saw, the defence gelled well together and had a nice balance and Lees-Melou looked like Stiepermann at his best in the no.10 role so fingers crossed we've stumbled onto something good

While I agree up to a point, there still didn't look to be much of a midfield last Sunday - Burnley made some long runs from deep in their half without coming close to a City player ( and without a City player coming close to them). While that may have been the plan it increases the risk of giving away a freekick close to our box, rather than near the halfway line.

Anyway OTBC

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hopefully Byram has now got all his moments of madness out of system (see: Brighton handball & Burnley dribble). He's usually a reliable defender and gives us a bit more height to defend crosses.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, cambridgeshire canary said:

Match is pretty much a write off anyway but good to see Gilmour not just walk straight back in

3 points are available with wee Billy on the bench

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Said it before and I’ll say it again. Gibson is an absolute liability and a higher quality is needed irrelevant of what level we’re at

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What in the blue hell was he trying to do there 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gibson, great buy, brilliant team selection! Could there be a more hapless, uncompetitive, unsupportable bunch of losers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...