Terminally Yellow

A critique of Daniel Farke

Just to start - this is not a cry for Farke to leave the club. I do not believe he should be sacked and this post is not intended to suggest that.

We have had nearly two and a half seasons under Daniel Farke's coaching. We can say without a shadow of a doubt that he is good at quite a lot. Young players definitely get chances under him. Players definitely improve under him too. There does appear to be a strong camaraderie within the squad and I think his attachment to his philosophy and beliefs is absolutely admirable. 

But I do think there are aspects of his coaching and tactics which have never worked, but he seems either unable or unwilling to learn. As a young coach, I do worry this may limit his - and ultimately our - potential.

Most significant of those is an inability to change a match. I'm not sure I can think of too many matches that a Farke decision led to us getting back into the game. I think back to Forest at home last Christmas - his bringing Hernandez on as probably my last stand out moment of him being able to do that. It feels to me too often that when the tide of the match is against us, Farke is rarely able to inspire a turn in that tide like we saw from Wilder yesterday.

Our continued use of zonal marking also baffles me. I'm absolutely convinced that our vulnerability at set pieces is largely down to zonal marking. For me, it's never really worked and it baffles me why it's still a part of our match plans.

I do think he could be more timely with substitutions. Now I know that against Southampton he made a double substitution at half time. That's the exception rather than the rule, however